2-14 November 2014: encounters, impressions, figures

IMPRESSIVE NUMBERS

“Yesterday I went to get a pizza and the man who brought the pizza over to me looked at me and said: ‘Hey, I know you from somewhere.. from TV!!! You play the recorder!” Felix Casaer, recorder player

“1000 Voices for Peace”: an unmissable happening!!!
1,500 people working behind the scenes, 2,660 hotel stays, more than 200 bus journeys, thousands of packed lunches and snacks, 25,000 website visitors, 66,000 viewers on Canvas and 4,000 concert visitors during 18 concerts

… blood, sweat and tears… of joy!!!!

A captivating peace statement!

Encounters stick in our memorie!

impressions collected by our Young Reporters

“I didn’t know much about Belgium until I came and wondered why I hadn’t visited Belgium before! A most amazing place on earth!” Jeff Kong, Australian choir conductor

“Friendships have also developed between the Irish choir and the GUK and we are thinking of going back to Limerick some time.” Astrid Hoffman, chair of Gent University Choir

“We are already in contact with our host choir in Sint Niklaas to invite them as our guests in Denmark maybe next year or in 2016.” Knud Erik Nordby, Danish choir conductor

“We have made some good friends and contacts. There are five choirs that we got on really well with and we intend to stay in touch with. This will be a great legacy for the past week.” David Evans, British choir conductor

“Huge success this afternoon. Congratulations to the staff too. Everyone was in 7th heaven. Evening the King let his hair down, albeit modestly.” Mark Eyskens

… and so everyone enjoyed “1000 Voices for Peace” in their own way, behind and in front of the scenes. Browse through all the responses at our Facebook page!

A universal peace statement!

Thirty-nine national and international choirs accepted the invitation sent out by Flanders Festival Brussels to participate in a homage to peace. More than  1000 professional and non-professional singers from countries that were involved in the First World War a hundred years ago stood side by side. Seventeen foreign and 22 Belgian choirs met between 3 and 9 November 2014. They have forged friendships, discovered our country and explored each other’s singing traditions during 17 joint concerts in many a Flemish municipality.

A week of meeting and singing together has be awarded with an unforgettable final concert on 9 November during which all singers presented a inspired plea for peace together in the Basilica of the Sacred Heart (Koekelberg Basilica). The world premiere of composer Krzysztof Penderecki’s Dies Illa symbolises the urgency of the message of 1000 Voices for Peace: HOPE! The hope that we must always keep alive to strive for a peaceful global community. Penderecki dedicates his work to all victims of the First World War. Under the patronage of Herman Van Rompuy, president of the European Council, Flanders Festival Brussels made its contribution to commemorating the  Great War.

organised by

2-9 novembre 2014: rencontres, impressions, chiffres

DES CHIFFRES QUI NE LAISSENT PAS D’IMPRESSIONNER

« Hier, je suis allé prendre une pizza et l’homme qui me l’a apportée m’a regardé et m’a dit : « Dites-donc, je vous ai déjà vu quelque part… à la télévision ! Vous jouez de la flûte ! » » Felix Casaer, flûtiste

« 1000 Voices for Peace » : incontournable !!!
1 500 personnes à l’ouvrage sur scène et en coulisse, 2 660 nuitées, plus de 200 trajets en bus, des milliers de colis lunch et de collations, 25 000 vues du site internet, 66 000 spectateurs sur l’émetteur Canvas, 4 000 spectateurs réels au fil de 18 concerts

… du sang, de la sueur et des larmes… de bonheur !!!

1000 Voices for Peace – des recontres gravées dans notre mémoire

Impressions recceuillies par nos Young Reporters!

DES RENCONTRES QUI RESTENT GRAVÉES DANS LES MÉMOIRES

« Je ne savais pas grand-chose de la Belgique jusqu’à ce que j’arrive ici et me demande pourquoi je ne n’y étais jamais venu auparavant ! Un endroit des plus étonnants ! » Jeff Kong, chef de chœur australien

« Des amitiés sont nées entre la chorale irlandaise et le GUK, et nous réfléchissons à nous rendre à notre tour à Limerick. » Astrid Hoffman, présidente du Gents Universtair Koor

« Nous avons déjà recontacté la chorale qui nous a accueillis à Sint Niklaas afin de les inviter à notre tour au Danemark, peut-être l’année prochaine ou en 2016. » Knud Erik Nordby, chef de chœur danois

« Nous nous sommes fait des amis et avons noué des contacts. Il y a cinq chorales avec lesquelles nous nous sommes fort bien entendu et garderons le contact. Une belle retombée de la semaine dernière. » David Evans, chef de chœur britannique

« Succès grandiose cet après-midi. Félicitations également à tous les collaborateurs. Tout le monde était aux anges. Même le roi a manifesté son émerveillement – très posément, cela va de soi. » Mark Eyskens

… ainsi, tout le monde aura savouré l’événement « 1000 Voices for Peace », en tant que spectateur ou en coulisse.
Plongez-vous avec délices dans les multiples impressions recueillies sur notre page Facebook !

Un message universel pour la paix!

39 chorales nationales et internationales  furent invitées par le Festival de Flandre Bruxelles à prêter leur voix à un hommage à la paix. Plus de 1 000 chanteurs professionnels et non professionnels issus de pays ayant pris part à la Première Guerre mondiale, il y a cent ans, furent présents côte à côte. Entre le 3 et le 9 novembre 2014, 17 chorales étrangères et 22 chorales belges se sont unies par leurs voix. Leurs membres ont tissé des liens d’amitié, certains ont découvert notre pays et tous ont partagé leurs traditions chorales au fil de 17 doubles concerts organisés dans de nombreuses communes belges.

Au menu donc, une semaine de rencontres et de concerts collectifs avec, en point d’orgue, un inoubliable concert de clôture programmé le 9 novembre, où tous les choristes réunis dans la Basilique de Koekelberg ont livré ensemble un plaidoyer ardent en faveur de la paix. La représentation en première mondiale du Dies Illa de compositeur Krzysztof Penderecki symbolisa le message fondamental de « 1000 Voices for Peace » : ESPOIR ! Cet espoir qu’en aucun cas nous ne devons perdre de vue si nous entendons œuvrer collectivement à un vivre ensemble pacifique. Penderecki à dédié son œuvre à toutes les victimes de la Première Guerre mondiale. Placé sous le patronat d’Herman Van Rompuy, président du Conseil européen, le Festival de Flandre Bruxelles apporta ainsi sa participation à la commémoration de la Grande Guerre.

organised by